Farel’s Letter to Calvin About his Quest for a Wife

Ladies, take note.  If you want to find a theologian like Calvin, you have to have certain attributes:

william_farelFarel,  to Calvin, July 1, 1558  –

“I could name to you some young ladies of good birth and well brought up; but as they are very poor, I have not ventured to do it. I know of none who are, at the same time, good-looking, amiable and rich. I have mentioned only three in my letters. Time will, perhaps, bring me acquainted with more….

Two live near you; they have an engaging appearance, and are well brought up; and though they have no great dowry to bring, they would not come altogether poor. If anything occurs here I will immediately inform you, and if you had set spurs to your horse and come hither sooner, you would have been able to inquire more conveniently for yourself.”

So, ladies, if you want a Calvin of your own, be well off, attractive, and amiable (and all three at the same time).  If you even exist, there is a Calvin out there for you.