Remembering Thomas Lambdin on the Anniversary of his Passing

Via Jack Sasson, in 2020

I bring the sad news today that our friend and colleague (and my professor and mentor during my undergraduate years), Professor Thomas Oden Lambdin, passed away last Friday at the age of 93, in Manchester, NH (Oct. 31, 1927 — May 8, 2020).

One of the leading scholars of Semitic and Egyptian languages, and a passionate teacher with more introductory grammars (Biblical Hebrew, Sahidic Coptic, Classical Ethiopic, Gothic) than just about anyone, he was appointed as associate professor of Semitic Languages in the NELC Department in 1964. He retired from Harvard in 1983.

Peter Der Manuelian

May he rest in peace everlasting.

1 thought on “Remembering Thomas Lambdin on the Anniversary of his Passing

  1. I am sorry to hear this news. I learned Biblical Hebrew from Thomas Lambdin’s wonderful textbook, back when that text was new. I’m grateful for his contribution to my life and scholarship. May his memory be for a blessing.

    Like

Comments are closed.