Philip Davies on the Thonemann Essay

Philip posted on the Biblical Studies list the following (which I repost here with his permittance) in response to the essay posted yesterday.

[Peter] Thonemann has been very helpful indeed in pinning down one of these. But I find it more important than he does to find out what has been going on. If he really can point us to a workshop, great. But I am a bit wary of his tone. There are aspects of this whole affair worth the trouble of finding out, especially if a serious deception is being practised on the Jordanian Dept of Antiquities – perhaps not the original purpose of these objects, nor even of those who first hawked them around to various institutions (including the British Museum).

I am really worried that unless we can trace the whole history it will be difficult to prevent something seriously stupid happening. So I would like Thonemann to share what he knows, and not worry so much about scholars wasting their time. I do not think much time is actually being wasted. I am retired and can devote a bit of time and energy to exploring this whole thing. Not too much, though.

But I do love a good story and there is one here – not about early Christians, though.

Philip Davies
Professor Emeritus
Biblical Studies
University of Sheffield

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Professor of Biblical Studies at Quartz Hill School of Theology as well as Adjunct at the Philippine Baptist Theological Seminary
This entry was posted in Biblical Studies Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philip Davies on the Thonemann Essay

  1. Pingback: Philip Davies on the Thonemann Essay « Zwinglius Redivivus « The Musings of Thomas Verenna

Comments are closed.