Glenn Beck: Dead Sea Scroll Dilettante Extraordinaire

Prepare to be disgusted at Beck- if possible even more than normally.

… the Dead Sea Scrolls, you know what they are? … So here’s what happened. When Constantine decided that he was going to cobble uh together an army, he did the um Council of Nicaea, right, Pat? (Pat: Yea.) The Council of Nicaea, and what they did is brought all of the religious figures uhh together, all the Christians and they said, “Ok, let’s put together the Apostles’ Creed, let’s you know, you guys do it.” So they brought all their religious scripture together, that’s when the Bible was first bound and everything else. And then they said, “Anybody who disagrees with this is a heretic and off with their head!” Well, that’s what the Dead Sea Scrolls are. They are those scriptures that people had at the time that and they said, “They are destroying all of this truth.” Whether it’s truth or not is up to the individual, but at that time those people thought that this was something that needed to be preserved and so they rolled up the scrolls and put them in clay pots and they, they put them in the back of caves where no one could find them. They were hidden scripture because everything was being destroyed that disagreed with the Council of Nicaea and Constantine. That’s what those things are.

Someone close to Beck needs to tell him to keep his mouth shut when it comes to things he CLEARLY knows NOTHING about. Every time he says something about religion or theology he proves himself an absolute ESEL.

[Via Joel Watts on FB].

19 thoughts on “Glenn Beck: Dead Sea Scroll Dilettante Extraordinaire

  1. I’m a Conservative and I listen to Beck all the time. Today I found myself (for the first time) yelling at a radio: “What the F*** are you talking about?” I love history (no degree in it) and I can’t imagine where Beck got his “facts.” A stunning display of incompetence.

    Like

  2. Wow…That is some mess that Beck has got himself into there. How did he manage to amalgamate all those bizarre ideas into one narrative story? Its impressive actually.

    Like

  3. (Corrected copy due typos.)
    Well, I’m sure glad we Christians are more careful with our mouths.
    I am interested as their is no source cited and only one uncredited phrase is in quotation marks.
    Just curious, that’s all. Are we dealing in fiction here or do peole believe we don’t need correct style and punctuation in our writings?

    Like

  4. Just curious – I thought it was ‘corrected copy due typos’. What about ‘their’ and ‘peole’??

    Like

  5. Sorry Steph that my typos so thoroughly distracted you from a valid observation in the discussion. I’ll certainly be more careful.

    Jim- no links take me to an objective or valid source of the alleged Beck narrative. It took me on a circular trip to nowhere. I think as a good German friend once told me- You send me on vild gooses chase, I think!

    Like

    • from you? no. you disregarding the link to which you were directed, clearly have no interest in following leads for yourself, and only wish to stand side by side with the absurdity of beck-ianity. so, until you comment in a way that furthers the discussion instead of just circling the drain of beck-ism, i think you’re done here.

      Like

  6. I’ve actually seen that story from Muslims, Mormons, AND Jehovah’s Witnesses 🙂 Him presenting it on national radio was… interesting, though.

    Like

  7. Pingback: a one man ventriloquist: glenn beck’s misrepresentation of the dead sea scrolls « The Official Blog of Dr. Robert R. Cargill

  8. I was also disturbed when I heard Beck’s remarks. The RazorsKiss comment makes sense. Do you have references for that idea being taught by Mormonism?
    If Glenn Beck believes the Mormon version of history he would not bother to check real history on the matter since facts would not support that belief.
    What else is distorted by his Mormon beliefs?

    Like

  9. I followed the link and it took me to a recording of Beck’s own voice… methinks the horse’s mouth is a valid source.

    Like

    • it was more than obvious to me that del simply wanted to serve up innuendo without ever facing the facts of beck’s behavior.

      Like

  10. Poor Beck, while he is not historially accurate, this does not mean he is lying. He is just perhaps ignorant being a Mormon. I like some of his conservative thoughts myself, but then I am not an American. (Thank goodness! lol) But my Irish little brother has become one. And he likes the political and ideaological Beck too.

    Like

  11. How embarassing, all around!
    I heard Glenn Beck giving what one might loosely describe as an exposition of the “full armor of God” from Ephesians 6 a while back. It was aweful, almost blasphemous stuff.

    Like

  12. He is a Mormon, what can we expect? But does one have to be a Christian, to be a good American, and know the American Constitution? And that is a real question I ask. (I am not an American, but a Brit..Anglo-Irish)

    Like

Comments are closed.