Daily Archives: 10 Nov 2017

Roy Moore, and His Defenders, Explained

Sin is the oracle of the wicked in the depths of his heart; there is no fear of God before his eyes. He sees himself with too flattering an eye to detect and detest his guilt; all he says is malicious and deceitful, he has turned his back on wisdom. To get his way he hatches malicious plots even in his bed; once set on his evil course no wickedness is too much for him. (Ps. 36:1-4)

No Person Who Has This Viewpoint Should Think for a Second that they Are a Christian

Zwingli’s Birthday Greeting to Luther

zwingl_baden

The Greatest Hindrance to Learning…

Let’s be honest- if you’re an American biblical scholar/ theologian and you only read English, you are terribly hobbled by that. The greatest hindrance to learning is monolinguism.

There’s Still Time to Acquire the Commentary…

the-person-the-pew-commentary-series

From now till midnight on Sunday the 12th of November you can purchase the entire Commentary for $99.  Yup.  You read that right.  For the next 3 days you can acquire the entire Commentary in PDF format for less than half price.  How?  Just by clicking my PayPal Link.  It’s that simple.  It really is an exceptionally useful work for the layfolk in your life (even if it isn’t aimed at academics).  Here’s what a normal person thinks:

***

This commentary set is written and designed exactly for the average person. The person who hasn’t spent years in book learning and writing papers. Rather, it’s for a person who feels a yearning to know a bit more so they can grow spiritually and intellectually in the faith. The average person might not know where to start on the journey. This set does it beautifully. – Doug Iverson

***

It’s Martin Luther’s Birth-iversary

Happy Birthday, Martin Luther!

Einen Gruß an das Geburtstagskind: Heute vor 533 Jahren wurde Martin Luther geboren. Und fast 500 Jahre ist es her, dass der Urheber der Reformation seine 95 Thesen am Hauptportal der Schlosskirche in Wittenberg angeschlagen hat. Zahlreiche Gemälden des Reformators haben wir der Werkstatt von Lucas Cranach dem Älteren zu verdanken, die ab den 1520er Jahren ganze Serien produzierte. Nicht nur gelten sie als Meisterwerke der Porträtkunst dieser Zeit sondern prägen tatsächlich unser Luther-Bild bis in die Gegenwart. Dieser erscheint mal als energischer und unbeugsamer Mönch, als Junker Jörg mit Vollbart oder als Gelehrter mit und ohne Doktorhut. So gestaltete Cranach nicht nur von Beginn an das öffentliche Image Luthers, sondern gab der gesamten Reformation ein Gesicht, das die neue Lehre in ganz Europa bekannt machte. Auch Doppelporträts mit Ehefrau Katharina von Bora gehören zum Repertoire der Cranach’schen Kunst. Den Theologieprofessor und den Maler Cranach verband eine enge Freundschaft.

luther

A Middle of the 17th Century Portrait of Luther- Because it’s His Birth-iversary

Via.

luther

The Birth of Martin Luther…

luther33Took place on 10 November, 1483. Luther tells the story of his origins thusly:

Concerning my family background, no one can give more trustworthy information than the counts of Mansfeld. I believe that these nobles have enough of a name and authority in the Empire to deserve to be believed on this subject. … I was born, by the way, at Eisleben, and baptized there in St. Peter’s Church. I do not remember this, but I believe my parents and the folks at home.

My parents moved there from [a place] near Eisenach. Nearly all my kinfolk are at Eisenach, and I am known there and recognized by them even today, since I went to school there for four years, and there is no other town in which I am better known. I hope the people there would not have been so stupid that any one of them would call the son of Luther “nephew,” another “uncle,” another “cousin” (I have many of them there), had they known that my father and my mother were Bohemians or other such People, rather than those born in their midst.

The rest of my life I spent in school and in the monastery at Erfurt until I came to Wittenberg. I was also in Magdeburg for one year at the age of fourteen.*

Luther tells Spalatin all this because, at the time he wrote the letter, some were accusing him of being a native of Bohemia.  It is the only place in his writings where he mentions his birth (that I’ve been able to track down).
_______________
*M. Luther, Luther’s works, vol. 48: Letters I, pp. 145–146.

The Greatest Commentary Sale Event of the Year- In Honor of Luther’s Birthday!

the-person-the-pew-commentary-series

From now till midnight on Sunday the 12th of November you can purchase the entire Commentary for $99.  Yup.  You read that right.  For the next 3 days you can acquire the entire Commentary in PDF format for less than half price.  How?  Just by clicking my PayPal Link.  It’s that simple.  It really is an exceptionally useful work for the layfolk in your life (even if it isn’t aimed at academics).  Here’s what a couple of layfolk think:

***

This commentary set is written and designed exactly for the average person. The person who hasn’t spent years in book learning and writing papers. Rather, it’s for a person who feels a yearning to know a bit more so they can grow spiritually and intellectually in the faith. The average person might not know where to start on the journey. This set does it beautifully. – Doug Iverson

***

I am a Christian and a Bible Study Teacher at my church. I have been in church all of my life, but I found it difficult to take on the teaching responsibilities of a Senior Adult Ladies Class. Although I have read the Bible, there are many things that I do not understand. I also was worried because the ladies in my class are “Studiers” of the Bible and the thought crossed my mind “What can I teach these ladies that they do not already know?” As you can see from my comments, I was wondering how “I was going to do it” instead of wondering how “God would do it”!

But when you teach it, you have to go deeper than just reading. I believe that God wants us to continue to go deeper each time we open the Bible. One of the references I use for my studies are the books written by Jim West “For The Person in The Pew”. Jim can take a complicated set of scriptures and bring the meaning into clear view. Every time that I start a new Bible study, I order one of his books. We just finished the book of Revelation and his book was helpful in taking the complicated and making it simple.

Jim has a way of wording his explanations of the scripture in such a way that it makes you want to read deeper and then just watch and see what God can do! Jim is a gifted person and I am glad that God has blessed his life so that he could in turn bless mine.

Sherry Liles
Knoxville, TN

On Luther’s Birthday- The Two Best Recent Bios

If you’re looking for really very good very recent bios of Luther- you won’t do better than Volker Leppin’s or Herman Selderhuis’s.