Fun Barthian Facts

After Charlotte von Kirschbaum moved into Barth’s house, Barth signed his notes to her in the following ways1:

  • ‘I am having such joy! And I love you so much!’,
  • ‘I just love you so much’,
  • ‘I am so happy! I l. you so much’

or, later, simply

  • ‘I l. y. s. m. (sure? sure!)’ or ‘Oh you…..’, ‘Oh you!’, ‘D. L. … you know’,

from 1931 occasionally:

  • ‘I am constantly thinking of you and I love you much more, even much more than…

for example, on 1 August.

  • Although already then I liked you quite a lot, after all. You!’.

In 1934, he writes from Rome:

  • ‘Be, dearest, a thousand greeting and kisses, by your d. Karl’,

and finally, in a language style of a modern text message, apart from ‘I l. y. s. m.’ once also

  • ‘L. d. L. I l. y. s. m.’.

______________
1Biography and theology. On the connectedness of theological statements with life on the basis of the correspondence between Karl Barth and Charlotte von Kirschbaum (1925–1935), by Susanne Hennecke