Nothing Improves a Sermon Quite Like Repentance

Sunday the sermon was sluggish,
’Twas hard attention to keep.
The theme was faultily chosen,
It almost put me to sleep.

Monday was blue with sheer boredom;
Tuesday was carnal by choice.
Wednesday my conscience was wakened
By pleas from a still, small voice.

Prayer meeting left me uplifted,
Loyalty lingering long.
Thursday my heart was responding;
Friday His nudging was strong.

I came to thorough repentance
The following Saturday;
I yielded in full surrender
As all on the altar I lay.

Sunday the sermon was perfect,
Superb and quite at its peak;
Amazing how greatly that pastor
Improved in the space of one week!

—R. W. de Haan

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Modern Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply, but it will be moderated

