Zwingli Describes His Decision to Leave Glarus for Einsiedeln

Writing to Vadianus from Einsiedeln on June 13, 1517, thus explains his leaving Glarus:

“I have changed my residence, not at the stimulus of desire or of avarice, but because of the wiles of the French; and now I am at Einsiedeln.… What disaster that French faction has at last wrought me the wind of rumour has doubtless wafted to you. In the things done I too have had a part, but I have borne or have learned to bear many misfortunes.

Zwingli is referring to his anti-mercenary preaching and the opposition that preaching provoked in the town and among supporters of the French.

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Zwingli. Bookmark the permalink.