Parenting Advice From Luther

“One should not whip children too hard. My father once whipped me so severely that I fled from him and it was difficult for him to win me back again to himself. I would not willingly strike little Hans much, for if I did he would be shy of me and hate me, than which no greater sorrow could happen to me. God acts in this way, for he says: ‘I will chastise you, my children, (i. e., by Satan or the world) but if you cry and come unto me I will take you and raise you up.’ For God does not like us to hate him.” – Martin Luther

As an aside, today is the anniversary of Luther’s son Hans’s birth.  He was born 7 June, 1526.

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Luther. Bookmark the permalink.