Students as ‘Consumers’ is Destroying Higher Ed

Here’s another in a long line of examples of coddled students believing the notion that they are consumers and not learners.  But when you sow students as consumers instead of learners and turn schools into businesses and education into a consumer product where the ‘customer is always right’ and you couple that with a generation of kids who got awards for simply showing up and doing nothing, this is what you reap.

How Millennials Do ‘Sermon Prep’

  • Like a tweet.
  • Search for a biblical text to pretend to expound while only really talking about the tweet.‬
  • Throw in a citation from your interlinear bible and Strong’s concordance to pretend linguistic skill (thanks Chuck).
  • Tweet your ‘sermon’.
  • Use a ‘tweet storm’ if necessay.
  • Repeat next time you ‘preach’ in 4 or 19 months.

Trump Attempted to Get Comey To Drop The Flynn Investigation

And that’s obstruction. Trump tried to obstruct an investigation.  He should be impeached.  End of story.

The President then returned to the topic of Mike Flynn, saying, “He is a good guy and has been through a lot.” He repeated that Flynn hadn’t done anything wrong on his calls with the Russians, but had misled the Vice President. He then said, “I hope you can see your way clear to letting this go, to letting Flynn go. He is a good guy. I hope you can let this go.” I replied only that “he is a good guy.” (In fact, I had a positive experience dealing with Mike Flynn when he was a colleague as Director of the Defense Intelligence Agency at the beginning of my term at FBI.) I did not say I would “let this go.”

Read Comey’s full statement.

A Very Serious Plea For Very Serious Funding of a Very Important Project

I’ve received word that without further funding, the critical edition of Heinrich Bullinger’s Letters will end with the publication of Volume 19 (volume 18 has just appeared).

Funding sources have become hard to come by and the project is suffering the consequences of it.

So, if you have funding ideas or are yourself quite wealthy and want to bring to complete fruition an incredibly important work, please let me know and I will pass along word.

(I’m going to repost this every week on Wednesday until funding is acquired).

Parenting Advice From Luther

“One should not whip children too hard. My father once whipped me so severely that I fled from him and it was difficult for him to win me back again to himself. I would not willingly strike little Hans much, for if I did he would be shy of me and hate me, than which no greater sorrow could happen to me. God acts in this way, for he says: ‘I will chastise you, my children, (i. e., by Satan or the world) but if you cry and come unto me I will take you and raise you up.’ For God does not like us to hate him.” – Martin Luther

As an aside, today is the anniversary of Luther’s son Hans’s birth.  He was born 7 June, 1526.

News From CBA

Full members [of the Catholic Biblical Association] are encouraged to invite graduate students to apply for membership. Associate members who have completed their doctorates may also wish to apply for Full membership. Click here for membership categories and to download the application form. New applications received by July 3 will be considered for acceptance at the 2017 meeting.

CBA is one of the grandest scholarly societies.  If you meet the qualifications and are interested in applying, I’d be happy to sign up as your sponsor.  (Assuming I know something about you).

Zwingli Reviews Luther’s Book on the Lord’s Supper

zwingli109“In his book he [Luther] slays, uncautious man that he is, divine and human wisdom which it would have been easy to revive among the devout. Since the heretics, that is his followers, are with the impious themselves so deaf to all truth that they not only refuse the ear but even close the approaches.

I was for some time in doubt, considering on the one side the vast labour that was also vain so far as they were concerned who especially ought to receive benefit from it, and on the other that charity that ‘endureth all things’ and the conscience of those who while they are frank are still seducible by the trivial word of these men who under an appearance of snowy whiteness contrive deeds blacker than an Ethiopian.

… Luther has recalled us to the positions of [Duns] Scotus and Thomas [Aquinas], not indeed that we trust in them or see that he has used with skill those poor weapons, but that we may deprive him of every kind of offensive equipment.

… So shall we persevere unmoved in our position; whatever machinations of this sort [Luther] may conjure up, we shall await undauntedly and repel and render harmless.”

That’s a book review.