Theologians: An Observation

I’m getting the impression more and more each day that many theologians no longer bother to read the bible at all.  It’s as though they are so unfamiliar with the foundation-text of their work that they can’t find their way around in it any more than a worm can find its way to the moon.

Update:  I am teaching an MA class in liturgy. I brought Bibles from the library to use in class, and one of the students said that it was the first time he held a Bible in his hand during the entire five years of his degree program.  R.G.

I rest my case.

2 thoughts on “Theologians: An Observation

  1. John C. Poirier 17 May 2016 at 7:26 am

    My brother has a farm called “Can’t-Get-There-From-Here Farm.” When I read certain theologians (esp. Hauerwas, Milbank, etc.), and I ponder how one gets from the Bible to the thoughts I’m reading, I’m often reminded of the name of my brother’s farm.

    Like

    • Jim 17 May 2016 at 7:27 am

      indeed

      Like

Comments are closed.