Sometimes It’s Too Late

Yahweh said to me, ‘Even if Moses and Samuel pleaded before me, I could not sympathise with this people! Drive them out of my sight; away with them!

And if they ask you, “Where shall we go?” tell them this, “Yahweh says this: Those for the plague, to the plague; those for the sword, to the sword; those for famine, to famine; those for captivity, to captivity!  “I shall consign them to four kinds of thing, Yahweh declares: the sword to kill, the dogs to drag away, the birds of heaven and wild animals of earth to devour and to destroy.   I shall make them an object of horror to all the kingdoms of the earth, because of Manasseh son of Hezekiah, king of Judah, and what he did in Jerusalem.” ‘  Who is there to pity you, Jerusalem, who to grieve for you, who to go out of his way and ask how you are?

‘You yourself have rejected me, Yahweh declares, you have turned your back on me; so I have stretched my hand over you and destroyed you. Tired of relenting,  I have winnowed them with a winnow at the country’s gates. They have been bereft, I have destroyed my people, but they refuse to leave their ways.  I have made their widows outnumber the sand of the sea. On the mother of young warriors I bring the destroyer in broad daylight. Suddenly I bring anguish and terror down on her.  The mother of seven sons grows faint and gasps for breath. It is still day, but already her sun has set, she is dismayed and distracted; and the rest of them I shall consign to the sword, to their enemies, Yahweh declares.’ (Jer. 15:1-9)

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.