Daily Archives: 8 Apr 2017

‘Sickness’ is the New Evil

Read this fantastic essay in Diesseits, which begins- Für den aufgeklärten Geist ist klar: Das Böse gibt es nicht. Nicht, dass wir nicht von Bösem betroffen wären: üblen Krankheiten, übler Nachrede, Gesinnung, üblen Aboverträgen, Naturkatastrophen oder Kriegstreibereien. Aber das sind … Continue reading

Posted in Theology

Call For Papers

First, I’ll mention that I’m editing a forthcoming issue on Melanchthon so if you’d like to participate in that, let me know.  Otherwise, other topics are on the table.

Posted in Church History

My Problem With The Barthians is Their Moral Inconsistency

Let me put it directly: Many of the Barthians I know are rightly outraged at the immorality of one Donald J. Trump and have expressed that outrage on social media and blog posts. Most of the Barthians I know are … Continue reading

Posted in Modern Culture

Emil Brunner in Japan

Brunner was invited to teach at ICU, Tokyo and he was happy to do so.  I mention it because Shuhei Oishi posted this bust of Brunner on his Facebook page.  I have never seen it before.

Posted in Modern Culture

The Seven Things God Literally Hates

There are six things that Yahweh hates, seven that he abhors: a haughty look, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that weaves wicked plots, feet that hurry to do evil, a false witness who lies with … Continue reading

Posted in Bible

Fun Facts From Church History: The Confession Of Bullinger’s Father

In 1529… In February of this year Bullinger’s father had publicly proclaimed at Bremgarten his conviction, that he had hitherto, in the time of darkness, misled his parishioners; but that now he would endeavour to guide them in the right … Continue reading

Posted in Bullinger

Quote of the Day

I don’t have to go to church to be a Christian but I have to go to softball practice to be on the team. — Rev Norespect

Posted in Modern Culture | 1 Comment