I Can’t Believe He’s Been Gone 17 Years

I’m remembering my friend George Beasley-Murray, who died on 23 February, 2000.

In the early 1990’s when George was visiting SEBTS with his wife Ruth we struck up a fast friendship and they invited me to visit them at their home in Hove, East Sussex.  It was my first visit to England (although certainly not my last) and it was wondrous.

I’m thinking of it today because Matt Montonini and I were chatting about the great man a few years ago and I was reminded of my time with him and the very few photos I took while I was there.  These were the days before digital cameras so I had to hunt through the photo books to find and scan them.

They’ve brought back some very fond memories of my two weeks with George and Ruth, our visits to London and Cambridge, and our trip across the Channel to Dieppe, France for a day excursion.  We discussed everything under the sun and I wondered aloud at the fact that the people at the Baptist Church he attended in Hove knew nothing of his international reputation as a leading New Testament exegete, expert on baptism in the early church, and lead translator of Rudolf Bultmann’s commentary on John.  By the by, Beasley-Murray met Bultmann on a number of occasions and shook his hand.  Meaning I too had shaken Bultmann’s hand (once removed).

George was a brilliant man and a good friend to me.  And his wife Ruth was a witty treasure who, like all Brits, loved to swap tales (usually of some fascinating personal tidbit about this or that person).

Here are the photos.  I think of you often, George.  I miss you.  Very much.  (And I miss the fact that, unlike you, no one wears a tie anymore even when sitting in the parlor reading the paper).

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.