Whilst I Understand the Present Dismay at Academia.edu’s Policies…

I don’t understand the double standard in evidence in terms of the treatment of JSTOR by academics.  That is, academics are being urged to abandon their academia.edu pages in favor of platforms that are more ‘open access’.  Fair enough.  And frankly, whether you have an academia.edu page doesn’t really bother me one way or the other.  Delete your page, or don’t.  It’s not really a burning issue to me.

What I find curious is that for years and years academics have been relatively silent about JSTOR.  You know, that clearinghouse of academic publications that charges outrageously high fees simply to read essays or journal articles which it neither produced nor edited nor published but instead simply holds hostage in a prison of fees with the willing collaboration and cooperation of academic institutions around the world.

It seems to me, and I mean no disrespect to Sarah or others who feel strongly about academia.edu, that it’s very odd to be riled up by the one but not by the other.

JSTOR has been extorting scholars for many years.  And for many years, silence among academics.  So I’m having a bit of a hard time understanding the outrage at academia.edu for, in my view, doing far, far less to hinder free access than JSTOR does every single moment of every single day.