Daily Archives: 21 Nov 2016

It’s Hard Being an Introvert When Social Events Beckon…

I love hanging out in crowds about as much as I love crowds…..  That said, I do enjoy seeing people (individually) but group gatherings are really the most stressful awkward things I ever have to endure.

So I never stay long.  I just can’t.

So I went to the Reception, had a diet pepsi, chatted with a few people I knew, and yes, left.  I can’t interrupt folk when they’re socializing and at social events they’re socializing.  If I catch you when you first arrive it’s all good.  After that, nope.

So for me SBL concludes tonight.  I had a great time.  DV, next year in Boston.

Only One Thing Remains- The Bloomsbury / T&T Clark Reception

Before it I met up with a few friends before the exodus of academics from San Antonio.  Then dinner.  Next, Bloomsbury.  And oh yes, Crossley and I reconciled after our nonexistent feud.

De Gruyter’s “Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception” – Free Entries

9783110313307De Gruyter has instituted a program wherein readers are invited to read various articles from the EBR for free with new articles being provided at regular intervals.

Read the statement of purpose of the EBR here and scroll to the bottom for the present articles offered to interested persons at no cost.

Around Lunch

Had more fun wandering around chatting with folk and then had lunch with Anne from Copenhagen. Good times. Now, off to Sessions!

Calvin is Significant, Sure, But Zwingli is Moreso

calvin4Einigen Kirchenhistorikern gilt Calvin als “Vollender der Reformation”. Auf ihn berufen sich heute mehr als 80 Millionen reformierte Christen weltweit – neben den Lutheranern der zweite große Zweig im Protestantismus. Calvin kam am 10. Juli 1509 rund 100 Kilometer von Paris entfernt in Noyon zur Welt – acht Jahre vor dem legendären Thesenanschlag Martin Luthers (1483-1546) gegen die Missstände seiner Kirche. Der “französische Luther” starb am 27. Mai 1564, im Alter von nur 54 Jahren, in Genf.

Enjoy the whole essay.

Breakfast on the Last Full Day of SBL 2016

And ran into Mark Smith who very kindly gave me a copy of his recent book.

The Church in Texas that Showed the Football Game on the Big Screen- During the Worship Service

My reaction to this really vile display of godlessness?  In a word-

Football is your religion.  You aren’t a Christian church, you’re a football church.  That’s your ‘god’ and that ‘god’ is your true object of devotion.

That’s it.  Oh, and

giphy

SBL Annual Meeting Posts

The Carnival (both Official and Avignonian) comes soon and of course the theme is organized around the annual meeting.  Accordingly, if you see posts relevant to the gathering please pass them along so I can include them.  Comments on the meeting, sessions attended, books that look good seen at the book hall, etc. are fair game.

Thanks

Pope Francis- Abortion? Meh…

Francis has just granted all priests the authority to pardon any person who has an abortion, essentially declaring it to be the moral equivalent of stealing a chocolate bar.

Pope Franky… on abortion…  meh.  The pandering to culture pope may think this makes the Church stronger and more tolerant but instead it becomes less meaningful by the day under his lordship.