My take on the Jerusalem Papyrus

Good thoughts.

The Tell es-Safi/Gath Archaeological Project Official (and Unofficial) Weblog

Yesterday, at the Jerusalem conference at HU, I was invited to serve as a respondent in the session in which the new papyrus mentioning Jerusalem was presented (see here for the full article [in Hebrew]). This was reported as well by Nir Hasson in Haaretz (see below the English version of the article, courtesy of Joe Lauer).

As only some of the points I raised are not mentioned, here are some additional issues that I noted:

  1. My comments are as an archaeologist, not as an epigraphist or a linguist.
  2. I’m not sure that it is real or a fake, but various issues are problematic. I would very much like it to be authentic – but first – doubts must be dispelled.
  3. This is particularly so in light of the strong indications that many of the recently acquired fragments of Dead Sea Scrolls may be fakes – indicating that there are some…

View original post 1,214 more words