Daily Archives: 11 Sep 2016

Murderous Parents

Parents charged in the murder of their seven-week-old daughter both entered pleas of not guilty Friday morning. Jessica and Gary Nicely were originally charged with assault after their daughter Mia was brought to Kentucky Children’s Hospital with serious injuries. After the child’s death, the charge was upgraded to murder.

The baby’s twin sister was also taken to the hospital where she received treatment for injuries. Jessica Nicely will appear in court again on Tuesday for her preliminary hearing, and her husband Gary will appear on Friday. The judge has already stated that Gary’s case has been waived to the grand jury.

People

Moses, Can’t You Do Something With YOUR People?

The LORD spoke to Moses: “Hurry up and go down! Your people, whom you brought up out of the land of Egypt, are ruining everything! They’ve already abandoned the path that I commanded. They have made a metal bull calf for themselves. They’ve bowed down to it and offered sacrifices to it and declared, ‘These are your gods, Israel, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt!'” The LORD said to Moses, “I’ve been watching these people, and I’ve seen how stubborn they are.  Now leave me alone! Let my fury burn and devour them. Then I’ll make a great nation out of you.”

But Moses pleaded with the LORD his God, “LORD, why does your fury burn against your own people, whom you brought out of the land of Egypt with great power and amazing force?  Why should the Egyptians say, ‘He had an evil plan to take the people out and kill them in the mountains and so wipe them off the earth’? Calm down your fierce anger. Change your mind about doing terrible things to your own people.  Remember Abraham, Isaac, and Israel, your servants, whom you yourself promised, ‘I’ll make your descendants as many as the stars in the sky. And I’ve promised to give your descendants this whole land to possess for all time.'” Then the LORD changed his mind about the terrible things he said he would do to his people.  (Exod. 32:7-14)

I bet Moses wanted to change his mind before too long…

Ghastly Mariolatry

I saw this on facebook and swiped it because the comments at the top of the post are right on the mark.  The ick factor is off the scale-

untitled

15 Years Ago…

I was teaching a class on the Historical Jesus at the local community college when we heard that a plane had hit the world trade center. We thought it was a small plane. A bit later, when class finished, we learned two planes had hit the towers and one the pentagon. Driving home with the radio on I was shocked and horrified as the details rolled in. When I got home, I was glued to the tv news all day- until that evening when many of us attended a hastily assembled community prayer meeting. I remember it all like it was hours ago.

I Remember 9/11…

911