Enter to Win a Copy of “This Changed Everything”

This fantastic video produced by the Christian History Institute can be yours if you’re the lucky winner.  To win, you simply need to enter by

  1. ThisChangedEverything_Rev.inddSharing this post on your twitter feed, Facebook page, or blog (and you have to let me know you have done so). The more places you share it, the better your chances of winning.
  2. Writing, in comments below, a paragraph expressing your appreciation for either Huldrych Zwingli, Martin Luther, John Calvin, Peter Martyr Vermigli, Philipp Melanchthon, Johannes Oecolampadius, or Theodore Beza.

That’s it.  The best essay in combination with the most shares will decide the winner.  Contest ends on 30 September.  Tell your friends.  Let the games begin!

About the film-

2017 marks the 500th anniversary of the beginning of the Protestant Reformation. On October 31, 1517, an obscure German monk named Martin Luther published 95 theses for debate in Wittenberg, Germany. Little did he know that this act would ignite a revolution that would reshape the Christian church and change Western civilization forever.

In anticipation of this important anniversary, Christian History Institute is producing a groundbreaking three-hour documentary series called This Changed Everything. Narrated by the renowned British actor David Suchet, the program tells the dynamic story of the people, places, and events that shaped the Reformation. It features expert commentary from Dr. Michael Horton, Dr. Frank James, Shane ClaiborneBishop Robert Barron, and over twenty other scholars and clergy who bring new insight into how the church came to be where it is today and where it may go in the future.

This Changed Everything celebrates the fruits of the Reformation while grappling with difficult questions about the legacy of division. Clearly, the medieval church was in dire need of reform, but could complete schism have been avoided? Why does the Protestant movement continue to splinter into ever increasing factions? How should we think about our divisions in light of Jesus’ passionate prayer that his followers be “one”?

4 thoughts on “Enter to Win a Copy of “This Changed Everything”

  1. Ross Macdonald 10/09/2016 at 8:25 pm

    Who could possibly top the following praise of Calvin, by a man who nonetheless betrayed the legacy of Calvin?:

    “Calvin is a cataract, a primeval forest, a demonic power, something directly down from Himalaya, absolutely Chinese, strange, mythological; I lack completely the means, the suction cups, even to assimilate this phenomenon, not to speak of presenting it adequately. What I receive is only a thin little stream and what I can then give out again is only a yet thinner extract of this little stream. I could gladly and profitably set myself down and spend all the rest of my life just with fräulein Kirschbaum… er, I mean Calvin, of course.”

    [Please note Barth’s unedited conclusion, which has often been misquoted]

    Like

    • Jim 10/09/2016 at 8:27 pm

      brilliant

      Like

  2. Daniel Chao 04/10/2016 at 1:19 pm

    I’m still learning as to half these names and where I don’t have the bandwidth to read or watch all I would like on the Reformers, it has deeply affected my understanding of the gospel message and unveiled at least part of the mystery and glory of God’s redemptive story. I watch documentaries on Reformers whenever I can, most recently, St. Patrick, John Knox, & Zwingli. But perhaps out of ignorance, I still pick Luther as I am most familiar with his work & life. His journey from despair to courage as he faces the powers of the Pope, the acerbic wit he applies to his detractors, his joking wit in his lessons (17 of the 12 apostles buried here in Spain), his humility in stating “Here I stand, I can do no other” knowing the history bearing weight behind him. And yes, even his human failings with outdated or reactive theology of criticism of the epistle of James and perpetual virginity of Mary points me past him toward Christ. Heck, because of Luther I’m actually learning a few Latin phrases like Simul Justus et Peccator. What a beautiful phrase of our condition. Through the lens of Martin Luther has come many of the answers to questions I didn’t even know to ask! As a pastor once told me, he’s done in one lifetime what it might take 10 others to do.

    I’m still learning all of the names and would love this DVD to help me in my education to see the Reformation landscape as it were but if not free, will definitely purchase it at some point.

    By faith alone, but not by faith that is alone…

    Like

    • Jim 04/10/2016 at 1:21 pm

      check with your local PBS station. maybe it is airing in december there

      Like

Comments are closed.