Total Depravity:  The Song Leader Edition

Wickedness.  

A Sevier County man was arrested after a teenager claims she received sexual text messages from a former music leader at Dripping Springs Baptist Church in Seymour. 

Investigators believe John Leslie Steger, 35, sent a 15-year-old girl multiple text messages starting around April 29 to July 30. The two met while Steger was a leader for a church choir. He also helped with vacation bible school and taught classes.

The report says some of the texts said: “Let me be your first,” “Want next step,” “Friends with benefits,” “It’s not enough, why do you think I want more,” “What I had in mine wouldn’t hurt,” “I’m hormonal,” “Enough, why do you think I want more,” “Terrific kiss,” and :”Loved our small hug.”

The report claims Steger did admit to sending the text messages, hugging, kissing and holding hands with the teen.