Zwinglius Redivivus

flagellum dei

Triggerhappy Much? The Execution of Philando Castile

A Minnesota officer fatally shot a man in a car with a woman and a child, an official said, and authorities are looking into whether the aftermath was livestreamed in a widely shared Facebook video, which shows a woman in a vehicle with a man whose shirt appears to be soaked in blood telling the camera that “police just shot my boyfriend for no apparent reason.”

Etc.

So according to the report on NPR this morning, the car was stopped and the driver was asked for his license and when he reached for it the cop shot him.  Question one- why did the cop have his weapon drawn for a traffic stop?  I’ve been stopped and the cops have never had their gun out when they walked up to the car.  Not once.  Question two- if the driver was complying, why was the triggerhappy cop feeling threatened?

Finally, an observation:  the voice of the cop on the facebook livestream is the voice of a person who knows he’s done something wrong.  Listen to it, you’ll see what I mean.

This appears to be one of those really wicked ‘he’s black so he must be a threat to me’ reactions by yet another officer of the law.  Were I a black man in America, I would live stream every encounter with the cops I ever had.

Written by Jim

07/07/2016 at 6:47 am

Posted in Modern Culture