Zwinglius Redivivus

flagellum dei

New Jersey’s Mafia-esque Student Loan Program (aka Loan Sharks)

Amid a haze of grief after her son’s murder last year, Marcia DeOliveira-Longinetti faced an endless list of tasks — helping the police access Kevin’s phone and email, canceling his subscriptions, credit cards and bank accounts, and arranging his burial in New Jersey.  And then there were his college loans. When DeOliveira-Longinetti called about his federal loans, an administrator offered condolences and assured her the remaining balance would be written off. But she got a far different response from a New Jersey state agency that had also lent her son money.

“Please accept our condolences on your loss,” said a letter from the Higher Education Student Assistance Authority to DeOliveira-Longinetti, who had co-signed the loans. “After careful consideration of the information you provided, the Authority has determined that your request does not meet the threshold for loan forgiveness. Monthly bill statements will continue to be sent to you.”  DeOliveira-Longinetti was shocked and confused. After all, the agency features a photo of Governor Chris Christie on its website, and boasts in its brochures that its “singular focus has always been to benefit the students we serve.” But her experience with the authority, which runs by far the largest state-based student loan program in the country, is hardly an isolated one, an investigation by ProPublica, in collaboration with the New York Times, found.

I used to think Chris Christie was a pretty good guy.  Alas, I was wrong.  He’s a disgusting wretch just like every other politician.

Written by Jim

04/07/2016 at 2:23 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Things never change. As a graduate student in Detroit, living in the inner city, during the late 60’s I was asked by the Detroit Board of Education to teach full time at an inner city school where blacks feared to tread. I had some street ‘cred’ as I lived in the area and accepted the position where I taught for one year until I finished my degree and left the US. I had no teaching experience aside from subbing, however, it seems I had been someone they could count on. At the same time I had taken a student loan or two and never paid them back as according to the rules back then people who thought in the inner city had their loans waived.

    Decades later the org. given the task of tracking dn students found me living here in Israel and demanded repayment. The private co. assigned the task English was poor and filled with errors as I claimed that I was exempt from the payment due to my year of teaching in the inner city where being called a ‘honkie or ‘white mf’ was the norm. Remember this was a year after the Detroit riots (in which whites were heavily involved). They claimed whereas I taught that year in the ghetto I did not have a teaching degree, even though the Board of Education hired me as a full-time teacher, thus I was not exempt!! Eventually, under duress, I was forced to pay and along with the check suggested that those with whom I had been corresponding should use the funds for a course or two in basic English.

    Like

    joezias

    04/07/2016 at 3:06 pm


Comments are closed.