Zwinglius Redivivus

flagellum dei

Yahweh Infuriated

I have let myself be approached by those who did not consult me, I have let myself be found by those who did not seek me. I said, ‘Here I am, here I am!’ to a nation that did not invoke my name. 

Each day I stretched out my hands to a rebellious people who follow a way which is not good, as the fancy takes them; a people constantly provoking me to my face by sacrificing in gardens, burning incense on bricks, living in tombs, spending the night in dark corners, eating the meat of pigs, putting unclean foods on their plates. ‘Keep your distance,’ they say, ‘do not touch me, lest my sanctity come near you!’ Such words are like stifling smoke to me, an ever-burning fire.

Look, it is inscribed before me: I shall not be silent until I have repaid them, repaid them in full, punished your guilt and your ancestors’ guilt together, Yahweh declares. For having burnt incense on the mountains and insulted me on the hills, I shall pay them back in full for what they have done.

Yahweh says this: As when a bunch of grapes is found still to have juice in it, people say, ‘Do not destroy it, for it contains a blessing,’ so I shall act for my servants’ sake, I shall not destroy them all. I shall produce descendants from Jacob and heirs to my mountains from Judah, my chosen ones will own them and my servants will live there. (Isa. 65:1-9)

Written by Jim

23/06/2016 at 7:49 am

Posted in Bible, Modern Culture