Compassionless? Vote Romney- He’s Your Man

Because Romney doesn’t care about the poor. There’s plenty of government help for them already…

GOP front-runner Mitt Romney said this morning that he’s not concerned about the plight of the country’s very poor because there are social safety nets that take care of them.  “I’m in this race because I care about Americans,” Romney told CNN’s Soledad O’Brien this morning after his resounding victory in Florida on Monday. “I’m not concerned about the very poor. We have a safety net there. If it needs repair, I’ll fix it.”

“I’m not concerned about the very rich, they’re doing just fine. I’m concerned about the very heart of the America, the 90, 95 percent of Americans who right now are struggling and I’ll continue to take that message across the nation.”  The CNN anchor pressed Romney: “You just said I’m not concerned about the very poor because they have a safety net. And I think there are lots of very poor Americans who are struggling who would say that sounds odd. Can you explain that?”

“Well, you had to finish the sentence, Soledad,” said Romney. “I said I’m not concerned about the very poor that have the safety net, but if it has holes in it, I will repair them…The – the challenge right now – we will hear from the Democrat Party, the plight of the poor, and – and there’s no question, it’s not good being poor and we have a safety net to help those that are very poor. But my campaign is focused on middle income Americans. My campaign – you can choose where to focus. You can focus on the rich. That’s not my focus. You can focus on the very poor. That’s not my focus. My focus is on middle income Americans, retirees living on social security, people who cannot find work, folks who have kids that are getting ready to go to college. That – these are the people who’ve been most badly hurt during the Obama years.”

No- the people most badly hurt are… well actually it’s just the poor.  The middle class has been hurt by Congress.  The rich, on the other hand, have been blessed by both the Congress and the White House.

Mitt, I’m not sure if you Mormons read the real Bible, but you might want to borrow a copy and open it, say, to Ezekiel 16:49-50.

49 This was the guilt of your sister Sodom: she and her daughters had pride, excess of food, and prosperous ease, but did not aid the poor and needy. 50 They were haughty, and did abominable things before me; therefore I removed them when I saw it.

Mitt, did you see that? Sodom was destroyed because it had excess, you know, kind of like you and the rest of the politicians ruining this country, and because Sodom didn’t aid the poor and needy and, like you, Mitt, were haughty.

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Compassionless? Vote Romney- He’s Your Man

  1. Yes, but have the rich as a class ever been the biggest contributors to the poor? Keeping the middle class healthy will help the poor because the middle class is more likely to donate to poor.

    And isn’t the whole “govt does our charity” thing sub/anti-biblical, anyway?

    Like

Comments are closed.