Beth Moore: Winner of this Week’s Dilly Award

In a January 2014 blog post entitled, “A New Year, A New Time,” popular Southern Baptist Bible teacher Beth Moore shared the following alleged God-given revelation:

In mid-November of 2012, God dropped a word so convicting on my heart through another teacher’s lesson that my face instantly burned. . . . This was the word:

“Stop sowing over and over in the exact same field.”

I wasn’t looking for it. I didn’t ask for it. I was happy where I was. Like many of you, I like things to stay the same. I loved my circle of relationships and the familiar places I got to serve. I’ve never lost a passion for those places and have often wept with thanksgiving to God for the privilege of walking through some of the same doors again and again. I have a history of long relationships and staying put and that’s how I like things. But I knew God was talking to me. It burned like a branding iron.

Every single day for nearly 14 months, that same word has reverberated in my soul and troubled my feet. . . .

Fast forward 12 months exactly to the most recent November. A year after hearing from God so clearly about sowing further than the field that I’d loved and served in for so long, I had a very disturbing dream. I can count the significant dreams I’ve had through the decades on one hand so I’m not prone to look for messages in my sleep to keep from having to actually pray and read the Bible. That God can speak through dreams is clear in our own Bibles, of course, but for many of us it is unusual. I don’t feel the release right now to describe the dream though I may someday. What I do feel is a strong compelling to share with you what I knew beyond a doubt it meant. I believe that I can either be obedient to God in the faith walk He is setting before me or He will take my voice. I do not feel that it was a rebuke. I felt that it was a warning.

(Source, emphasis added)At the time, Do Not Be Surprised emphasized the danger of Moore’s claims to receiving direct, personal revelation from God. What was not emphasized at that time was the content of the revelation.

Etc.

Beth, for the sin of presumption- and theological incompetence- here’s your more than well deserved Dilly-

dilly-the-dilettante

Put the Bible down, walk away, and never presume to speak for God again.

One thought on “Beth Moore: Winner of this Week’s Dilly Award

Comments are closed.