Zwinglius Redivivus

I Love Bob Cargill But He’s Just Missing the Point

Posted in Friends, Modern Culture, Theology by Jim on April 8, 2013

The point, for Christians, isn’t the amassing of ‘scientific’ claims upon which to base their decisions (concerning Gay Marriage or anything else).  The point for Christians is to hear as clearly as possible the testimony of Scripture and to adjust our lives to it rather than it to our lives.

Bob is a great guy and I don’t think anyone who knows either of us doesn’t realize how close we are.  But we have different perspectives PRECISELY because I see life through the lens of Christian faith and he does not.

It is for this reason that our views on several issues differ.  I don’t think Bob a bad person for it, nor do I like him any less.  I simply recognize that, at the end of the day, we approach problems and issues from differing starting points.

Until Bob becomes a Christian or I become a secularist (neither of which are likely) we shall continue to disagree.  But that’s ok.  At least, for me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] You’ll have to read the entire study, I guess. I mean, what is normative morality? And, how does this fit into “spiritual, but not religious” science? And how does this fit into Jim’s latest post… [...]

  2. [...] I Love Bob Cargill But He’s Just Missing the Point (zwingliusredivivus.wordpress.com) [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,076 other followers