Philip Davies on the ‘Newly Discovered’ ‘Jesus Plates’ (Scrolls, Whatever)

Philip writes concerning the news media’s mention of some newly ‘discovered’ materials purported to shed light on the life of Jesus-

I have seen images and also seen one actual lead sheet. I have said nothing publicly yet, but privately I have said only that I think they are unlikely to be forgeries, but I did not use the word ‘genuine’ because it’s not clear what that would mean.

I do not know what these are are, or exactly how old. Like everyone else, I am waiting to see what further scientific tests show. But I have consulted a number of colleagues and so far none has been ready to declare them ‘forgeries’ either. Sensibly, they are going to wait and see. My position too is just that they should not yet be dismissed as ‘forgeries’. I think they are worth taking seriously for the time being.

I am not going to respond to every single inquiry about them, but I’m happy to tell you and indeed to encourage you to post this clarification as widely as you like!

Philip

Further, on the Biblical Studies list he writes

The provenance is known. I have consulted epigraphers, of course. The discovery is about 2 years old and the Easter timing is largely coincidental, forced by an unauthorized leak from a charlatan!

About Jim

I am a Pastor, and Professor of Biblical Studies at Quartz Hill School of Theology as well as Adjunct at the Philippine Baptist Theological Seminary
This entry was posted in Archaeology, Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Philip Davies on the ‘Newly Discovered’ ‘Jesus Plates’ (Scrolls, Whatever)

  1. Pingback: Philip Davies on the ‘Newly Discovered’ Messianic Plates « The Musings of Thomas Verenna

  2. Tom Verenna says:

    So I suppose my question then becomes, ‘was it discovered 5 years ago or 2 years ago?’ and is Jim Davila’s note accurate and are these the slabs (or part of the corpus of slabs) in question?’ With so much confusion (from those of us outside the inner circle, looking in) and with the questions that could be asked, it is good that everyone is erring on the side of caution.

    • Jim says:

      far too many questions have to be answered before anything meaningful can be said. ive seen the photo. its just a very bizarre something or other.

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the Jordan Lead Codices « Daniel O. McClellan

Comments are closed.